Legend of the Grey Suit

If there is one thing I despise in the world, it’s suit shopping.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE a beautiful suit!  But…beautiful suits don’t love: a) my hourglass shape b) my wallet (yikes!) c) my non-frumpy slightly fashion forward young self.

So what’s a girl to do? SEW!

IMG_4599

I picked up this Vogue pattern a year or two ago with the intention of making a lovely suit for myself.  In hindsight, I’m super glad I haven’t made it until now.  I’ve dropped 2 sizes since then and have discovered a major disdain for pencil skirts.  Or at least pencil skirts with little give – nothing sucks more than “two pigs fighting under a blanket” as Olympia Dukakis aka Claire puts it in Steel Magnolias.  Besides, with the back pleating, wouldn’t this look sooooo much better over a half-circle just-below-knee-length skirt?  Just flows right on for days!

The jacket is still swoon worthy with my personal spin on it.  Here’s what I’ve got planned for this:

1)    Lining!  Okay, I know this is like the most boring and annoying part of any jacket, but when was the last time you used a print instead of a solid crepe de chine?  What?! Never?!  Feast your eyes on this:

It's okay, you can drool. :)

Same weight, soft, and doesn’t fray too much.  It’s okay, you can drool. 🙂

2)    Lace vs. Braided Trim:  Braided Trim has a strong tendency to look cheap.  I don’t know why I think that, but it’s always been a bit Suzy-Homemaker to me.  So I found this delightful website Deb’s Lace and Trims (if you haven’t heard of them, stop reading and click the damn link, you’ll thank me) and picked out this lovely ½” lace:

Little bit of Art Nouveau right there...hmmm...

Little bit of Art Nouveau right there…yummy…

3)    Covered Frog Closures: You MUST be joking!  J-Ju-Jus-Just…no.  If I’m making something to wear and look like a million bucks, the last thing I want are those tacky black frog closures.  Here’s what I’m using instead:

Yeah, their expensive, but I'm (and my suit) are worth a little bit.

Yeah, they’re expensive, but I – and my suit – are worth a little bit.

4)    The skirt:  So I’m making a half-circle.  Don’t shoot me just yet.  Over the past couple years I’ve come to enjoy fuller skirts because they make my waist oh-so-tiny and I can wear tights and boots without looking like a sausage.  I’m trimming the bottom of the half-circle with this 3 1/2″ lace also from Deb’s Lace and Trims:

Drool, swoon, oogle to your hearts content. (4 bucks per 5 yards of greatness BTW!)

Drool, swoon, oogle to your hearts content. (4 bucks per 5 yards of greatness BTW!)

Starting the cut-out process today, *hopefully* I’ll finish cutting it out tomorrow.  But readers of the world: What say you?

Comments
2 Responses to “Legend of the Grey Suit”
  1. Tia Dia says:

    LOVE that jacket pattern, and yes, a fun lining just makes a garment more fun to wear!

    • Jennie Sue says:

      Me too! I actually bought the fabric before the pattern – final cut from a wholesale-to-retail place, so I ended up with 5 yards. Then I stumbled upon the pattern at JoAnns, stared at the lines and fell in love. The lining was a long time in coming – I just got lucky with the weight, hand, and lack of strechy-ness on the bias.

Thoughts? Ideas?

