Put a Bird on it!

In my attempt to make over my room for the first time since I moved all the way across the country, I stumbled upon the fabric that has taken Pinterest and Etsy by storm.  The Barber Bird!  I’m doing accents of yellow in the new fabrics all over my room, but I didn’t want to add too much to my bed except for two small roll pillows.  Here’s the easy tutorial for no fasteners and a fast cover for those pesky but cute rolls:

Mats:

2 14″x6″ roll pillows

Cotton Duck Fabric

Matching thread

Seriously, that’s all!  So I enlisted my wonderful man to make me a circle template for a 6″ diameter, making the circle have a diameter of 7.25″ for a 5/8″ seam all the way around.

Fussy Cut to showcase the graphics!

Fussy Cut to showcase the graphics!

Then I cut out the body of the fabric.  The diameter being 6″ means the circumference is 6pi or roughly 19″.  I made the total length 24″ to give for hemming allowance and overlap.  The width is the measurement of the pillow 14″ plus the seam allowance, making it 15.25″.

Fussy cut the pillow too!

Fussy cut the pillow too!

Then I pinned the circles to the sides of the body.  All the while cursing life, liberty, and the pursuit of a trendy room!  Even though it was frustrating, I didn’t realize that this would be less so than the next step.

So many pins!

So many pins!

Here’s the side angle of doom showing the overlap of the back seam:

ow, ow, ow, ow, ow!

ow, ow, ow, ow, ow!

Sewing on the ends is the last step.  And the most brutal.  This fabric had zero give, so naturally it was a pain in the fingers to sew!  Broke a needle on it too!  My advice to make it go through easier: sew with the circle facing up, it allows the curve to sit properly and not need to be stretched and mangled.

Final Product:

Super cute!  And the birds face each other!

Super cute! And the birds face each other!

 

 

 

 

Thoughts? Ideas?

